All you need to know about IPL Orange Cap and some other best IPL catches

Indian premier league has never been a disappointment since its inception in 2008, every year it has surprised its fan with something new and unique.

IPL Auction- Factor You Must Know about IPL Highest Run Scorer
The spot-fixing scandal that completely rocked the IPL season
The struggling cricket journey of Umesh Yadav

Indian premier league has never been a disappointment since its inception in 2008, every year it has surprised its fan with something new and unique. For those two months, everything related to IPL is it IPL umpire Salary, IPL cheerleaders, IPL auction or IPL batsman ranking everything remains the talk of the town. But there are few things which have not changed in IPL history. IPL caps and awards are one of those unchanged things like people looking for IPL fixtures and schedules to keep themselves free. Many awards and IPL Orange cap may have been introduced but the concept has remained the same.

Awards and recognition is the way to honor efforts made by the player to take their team to a new level at IPL  points table to improve their team’s IPL standing. IPL all teams work really hard to make their performance remarkable by taking best IPL catches, and to be in the list of best IPL catches.  Here is the complete list of all forms of awards and recognitions being provided by IPL to outstanding players for their extraordinary performance.

IPL Orange cap:

Highest Scoring Batsman 5th Name Will Shock You – IPL Orange Cap Holders from All the Seasons

We saved the best for the last, not that others award are any less but people are always crazy about IPL highest score batsman. Yes, you guessed it right orange cap is adorned by the IPL highest run scorer. This award is amongst the first awards to be introduced, it got announced on 25th April 2008 just a week after the opening ceremony of IPL. The very first orange cap was awarded to Shaun Marsh in 2008, while he was playing from kings eleven Punjab’s team. He played total 11 matches and managed to score 616 runs. The latest player to wear this cap is Kane Williamson who plays from Sunrisers Hyderabad as well as in 17 matches managed to score 735 runs.

Here is the list of all those who have won this orange cap in each season and has been able to grab the attention of IPL Hindi news:

  1. Shaun Marsh(KXIP) in 2008
  2. Matthew Hayden(CSK) in 2009
  3. Sachin Tendulkar(MI) in 2010
  4. Chris Gayle (RCB) in 2011
  5. Chris Gayle(RCB) in 2012
  6. Michael Hussey(CSK) in 2013
  7. Robin Uthappa(KKR) in 2014
  8. David Warner(SRH) in 2015
  9. Virat Kohli  (RCB) in 2016
  10. David Warner(SRH) in 2017
  11. Kane Williamson(SRH)in 2018


Purple cap:

The Purple cap is an honor given to the player who takes maximum wickets in the entire season of Indian Premier League. The purple cap was introduced in the very first season on 13th May 2008. The bowler who knocks down a maximum number of batsmen during the IPL season takes this cap back home. The IPL Orange cap is not awarded to both but to the one who has a better economy rate. It is really a good way to boost the confidence of bowlers because we have seen that cricket has been somehow batsman dominated game, people focus more on IPL batsman ranking rather than who bowled the best and with this cap bowlers get equal honor as any batsmen would get.

Maximum sixes award:

Knight Riders

This award is presented to the player who had been able to hit a maximum number of sixes in the entire season. It is great to watch when players hit the ball out of the boundary. Some players hit the ball so hard that it surpasses boundary as well and drops at the pavilion. In a recent season of Indian Premier League. A young batsman of India Rishabh Pant from daredevils has been able to grab this award.

Most Valuable Player:

Till 2012 the award was named as “Man of the tournament award’. But in 2013 officials of Indian Premier League introduced the concept of Most valuable player rating. On the basis of this rating by the end of the season. They introduced the most valuable player of the season award. Recently Sunil Naraine from Kolkata Knight Riders has been able to grab this award.

Emerging player of the year:

This award has undergone various name changes. In the first season, it was named as “best under 19 player”, whereas in 2009. It was changed to “best under 23 player” as well as in the name was again changed to “Under-23 success of the tournament award”. Again in 2011, its name got transformed and the award was categorized as “ Rising star of the year” award. In 2013 it was named as “ Best young player of the season”. However now finally since 2014, it has not undergone any transformation. Also, it is known as “Emerging player of the season award”.

Fair play award:

This award is given to the team who makes the record of being fair in the entire match. The winner is decided on the basis of the rating given by the umpire. After the match is over it has been a protocol that two on-field umpires. The third umpire jointly gives a rating to both the teams, looking at their game of spirit. The team needs to abide by cricket rules as well as laws to score maximum points.

These awards and recognitions are proof of the fact that the claim that IPL is fixed is false.